Home > Personal stories > Bro Franklin tells his story to Report COGIC Abuse

Bro Franklin tells his story to Report COGIC Abuse

A Brother, in his own words, tells of the harm he experienced at the hands of immoral leaders.

They treat my people’s wounds as though they were not serious, saying, ‘Everything is alright! Everything is alright!’ But it’s not alright.   Jeremiah 6:14 GWT

I pray for this church.

The abuse that occurs goes beyond the abuse of women and children.  Men are wounded too. I know of immoral men running churches right here in Boston, Massachusetts. I’m 50 years old and received the Lord and Savior into my heart at age 10. The Word says let not a hint of immorality be mentioned amongst you. But yet we have Bishops, pastors, ministers and deacons committing sexual immorality.

When I was married (I’m divorced now) my church (Saints Memorial COGIC) didn’t do a thing to help save my marriage. It created an atmosphere in the church where the assistant pastor felt bold enough to make “passes” at my wife. One day the assistant pastor, me and my wife were in the church going over some church affairs. At the end of evening my wife went to the back of the church to the ladies room. Seconds later, he followed her and as I stood there the Holy Spirit said to me,” he’s going to try to do something to your wife”. So as I proceeded to the back he came out grinning.  He had walked in the ladies room where my wife was naked using the bath room. When I reported it to the senior pastor, he blew up at me.

This has ruined my trust in the church but not in God. I just can’t believe men like this are “leading” churches and leading men astray. Saints Memorial harmed me and destroyed my marriage. We left there and went to Good Shepard Church of God in Christ. We were trying to salvage our marriage and still serve God.  The pastor is the leader of the flock not the God of judgement. The pastor, knowing my situation, told one of the brothers in church “he’s going to lose his wife”. If youre my pastor and you see that your members are in trouble, you should intervene on the behalf of your members and offer counseling. Sometime before this, this very same preacher coveted another man’s wife, took her while he was supposed to be counseling their marriage. He took this man’s wife and yet he is still the pastor of the church.

What kind of standards are being enforced in COGIC?

The church is built on women and children and the churches I’ve been part of  have exploited them and rejected men. The standard isn’t what degree you have, its do you have God in your heart. I could write much more, but as I write my heart becomes heavier. I just want to be heard. I’m deeply distressed because of my encounter with these two churches.

Bro O. Franklin,  Boston, MA

Tell your story

  1. warrenma
    August 12, 2011 at 3:17 am

    Sorry to hear of your situation. I am from Boston and know the Pastor SH at Good Shepherd. I am surprised to hear this about him. Are you talking about Good Shepherd COGIC on Whitter Street?

    If you need to talk, I can help please send an email to:

    warren@churchnetworks.org

    God Bless you!

  2. August 23, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    Yes, warrenma he is referring to Good Shepherd COGIC on Whitter Street.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

